Times are changing. Six years ago, when we started this crazy gluten, casein-free diet, I used to call every manufacturer and ask them about allergens in their products. The usual response was:
“Let me get my manager”
Just last week, while shopping at Costco, I saw a big bag of Ore Ida potatoes stamped with the gluten-free logo. Their website mentions over thirty products that are gluten-free. Still at Costco, there was a GF pancake mix, GF flour mix, GF ham, GF sausage and breakfast sausages (which my daughter loves) and a whole selection of GF lunch meats.
Wait! That is not all. One of my friends calls me from Aldi: …”they have gluten-free food and organic produce at incredible prices!”
Then, I get home and my daughter breaks out all over her face and body. Just to remember that she had a lemonade. Sure enough! It was from a fountain. The lining of the bags from the fountain are derived from WHEAT (according to information from our nutritionist at University of Chicago).
I can hardly believe it myself. But it’s true. There is also gluten in candies, soy sauce, beer, lunch meats, hot dogs, peanut butter, pickles…Not my favorite: pickles!
So little time…so much to test!